Andrew Macfarlane


Andrew is a Director of ANZCO, Fonterra Cooperative Group, Ngai Tahu Farming, and a member of the Lincoln University Council.  He is a past New Zealand President of the New Zealand Institute of Primary Industry Management, responsible for New Zealand’s rural professionals, past Chairman of Deer Industry NZ, and past Director of AgResearch.

andrew and his wife Tricia and their family, farm irrigated land in Mid Canterbury, focused on dairy, and hill country in South Canterbury and Southland focused on deer and beef production. The deer operation is managed and co-owned in an equity partnership by their son, Tom and his wife, Sam. Their farms are recognised for balancing high production with environmental outcomes.

Andrew oversees management of the farm and commercial property business, and has recently retired from the farm management consultancy practice, which he co-founded and worked in from the early 1980s.  He is known for his expertise and experience in irrigation water, soil, and nutrient management issues both at an on-farm and regional level. He also has particular expertise in understanding farm systems.  He enjoys his involvement with the International Farm Management Association, which every two years, links him with rural professionals from around the world.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email


The objective of the International Farm Management Association is to further the knowledge and understanding of farm business management and to exchange ideas and information about farm management theory and practice throughout the world. The IFMA is a non profit-making organisation and currently the Association has members in over 50 countries.

Congress Managers

Please contact the team at Conference Design with any questions regarding the Congress.

Photography Credits

Tourism Tasmania, Barnbougle Dunes, Ray Joyce, Health Holden, Graham Freeman, Joe Shemesh, Glenn Gibson, Hobart City Council, Nick Osborne, National Trust Tasmania, Dale Baldwin, Brian Dullaghan, Rob Burnett, Alistair Bett, Alice Bennett, Wai Nang Poon, Chris Crerar, Kathy Leahy, Flow Mountain Bike, Tasmanian Parks & Wildlife Service, James Bowden, Masaaki Aihara, Sean Feennessy, Bruce Irwin, Liz Knox