Ringetani Maltou1Yonas T. Bahta1

1Department of Agricultural Economics, University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa



Recurring drought is a major challenge to smaller holder livestock farmers. This study estimates agricultural drought resilience of smallholder livestock farms in the Northern Cape province of South Africa. This study utilized primary data collected from 207 smallholder livestock farmers and an agricultural drought resilience index (ADRI). The results revealed that only 9% of the smallholder livestock farms were resilient for agricultural drought, the rest of the farms were not resilient. It also found that the drought resilience indicator variables were positively correlated with production of livestock in dry and normal calendar years. The policy implications of these findings involve the government and key role players in the industry who should target needy smallholder farmers to build their resilience by enhancing their persistent, adaptability and transformation. Some of the assistance could mean supplying fodder, finance and other farm inputs.


Dr. Yonas T. Bahta is a Senior Researcher in the Department of Agricultural Economics, University of the Free State, South Africa

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


The objective of the International Farm Management Association is to further the knowledge and understanding of farm business management and to exchange ideas and information about farm management theory and practice throughout the world. The IFMA is a non profit-making organisation and currently the Association has members in over 50 countries.

Congress Managers

Please contact the team at Conference Design with any questions regarding the Congress.

Photography Credits

Tourism Tasmania, Barnbougle Dunes, Ray Joyce, Health Holden, Graham Freeman, Joe Shemesh, Glenn Gibson, Hobart City Council, Nick Osborne, National Trust Tasmania, Dale Baldwin, Brian Dullaghan, Rob Burnett, Alistair Bett, Alice Bennett, Wai Nang Poon, Chris Crerar, Kathy Leahy, Flow Mountain Bike, Tasmanian Parks & Wildlife Service, James Bowden, Masaaki Aihara, Sean Feennessy, Bruce Irwin, Liz Knox